A fresh, healthy and tasty Summer

Cucumber and Lemon Water

Whoa. So I can’t quite believe it’s been 6 whole months since my last blog post… life got pretty hectic there for a while! Although, I must admit, I’m pretty happy with the things I was able to achieve in 2014. I finished a Master of Human Nutrition Degree and also started a full time job in my area of interest and expertise – health promotion (focusing mainly on healthy eating), woohoo! It feels so good starting 2015 knowing that I’m in a full time job that I love and that I have no study obligations to somehow squeeze in – life’s feeling pretty sweet right now 🙂

There are a million different things I could write about, but today all that I’m thinking about is how hot it is and how thirsty I am! So, that’s why I’m dedicating this post to two of the recipes I have created or modified over the years that help me to feel hydrated, fresh and most importantly, healthy during the hot Summer months… each recipe is of course delicious, too!

Here’s my all time favourite drink to sip on during summer, although it’s perfect to sip on all day long, I particularly enjoy this drink around dinner time, especially if a cool breeze sets in outside.

fruity water pic

Fruity Water

1 jug water

1/2 lemon thinly sliced (I leave skin on)

1/2 an orange thinly sliced (I leave skin on)

1 sprig mint

Handful of ice

Add all washed ingredients to the jug and serve – pretty simple really!

I don’t usually feel like a heavy meal or even many snacks during the warm summer days. However, when I do get a little peckish, I find this recipe is the perfect cooling snack.

Frozen banana yoghurt

Frozen Banana Yogurt

2 bananas (mashed)

1/2 tablespoon raw, organic honey

2 cups natural, greek yogurt

Mash the bananas into a freeze proof container, add the honey and yogurt, mix well and freeze – once frozen, scoop out desired amount of frozen banana yogurt into a bowl – that’s it!

So there you have it, two simple, fresh and healthy recipes that you can whip up in under five minutes! You can substitute the natural greek yogurt for dairy free yogurt – for example coconut or soy yogurt if required 🙂

Happy New Year – Enjoy!

Bec xo

Leave a comment